

Clinton Community Schools Board of Education Meeting August 14, 2023

| Time & Location: | 6:16 pm, CMS Band Room | |
|------------------|-----------------------------------|--------------------------------|
| Board of | Kelly Schmidt, President - Absent | Shirley Harris, Vice President |
| Education: | Steve Clegg, Treasurer | Dale Wingerd, Secretary |
| | Chad Erickson, Trustee | Mike Houghton, Trustee |
| | Monica VanTuyle, Trustee - Absent | Kevin Beazley, Superintendent |
| Facilitator: | Shirley Harris | |
| Note Taker: | Karen Perez | |
| Timekeeper: | Shirley Harris | |
| Purpose: | Special Call Meeting | |
| Others Present: | Jack Hartung | |

| Time | Task/Activity (what & how) and Notes | Facilitator |
|-----------|--|----------------|
| 6:16 p.m. | 1. Call to Order/Pledge of Allegiance/Mission/Vision/Beliefs | Kelly Schmidt |
| 6:16 p.m. | 2. Public Comment | Kelly Schmidt |
| 6:16 p.m. | 3. Staff Introductions | Kevin Beazley |
| 6:17 p.m. | 4. Public Hearing on Anti-Bullying Policy | Shirley Harris |
| 6:17 p.m. | 5. Adoption of Anti-Bullying Policy | Shirley Harris |
| 6:18 p.m. | 6. Personnel Updates | Kevin Beazley |
| 6:18 p.m. | 7. Approval of CESPA Letter of Agreement | Kevin Beazley |
| 6:20 p.m. | 8. Adjournment | Kelly Schmidt |

1) Call to Order/Pledge of Allegiance

Mission

The Mission of Clinton Community Schools is to provide a safe and healthy environment, educating and preparing every person to be explorers and life-long learners.

Vision

The Vision of Clinton Community Schools is to inspire and empower endless possibilities for every person.

Beliefs

- ★ We Believe Every Person Matters
- ★ We Believe a Collaborative Culture Promotes High Achievement and Innovation.
- ★ We Believe Successful Schools are a Shared Responsibility of Students, Parents, Staff and Community.
- ★ We Believe Every Person has Opportunities to Reach Their Full Potential.

2) Public Comment - There was none.

3) Staff Introductions

Taylor Tschirhart - Boys Varsity Soccer Assistant Coach Kaitlyn Pugh - Afterschool Latchkey Aide

4) Public Hearing

As part of making the change to Thrun Law Firm, P.C. for policy services, the Board of Education must hold a Public Hearing. There were no comments made during the public hearing.

5) Adoption of Anti-Bullying Policy

After the public hearing, the Board of Education will consider the resolution on the proposed Anti-Bullying policy.

Motion that the Board of Education adopt the Resolution that adopts Policy #5207 (Anti-Bullying).

Made by: Chad Erickson

Supported by: Mike Houghton

Roll Call Vote: Steve Clegg, Aye; Chad Erickson, Aye; Mike Houghton, Aye; Shirley Harris, Aye; Dale

Wingerd, Aye. Motion passed on a 5-0 vote.

6) Personnel Updates

a) Separation of Employment:

| Name | Position | Separation Date | |
|--------------------|---------------------------|-----------------|--|
| Sheila Queener | Elementary Teacher | July 21, 2023 | |
| Demetrial Williams | Special Education Teacher | July 19, 2023 | |

Motion that the employment resignations be approved as presented.

Made by: Chad Erickson Supported by: Steve Clegg Vote: 5-0; motion passed

b) Employment, Contract Services, and Volunteer Services:

| Name | Position | Compensation | Term |
|-----------------|-----------------------|----------------|-----------|
| Makenzie Marion | Elementary Teacher | CEA Contract | 2023-2024 |
| Dolores Meade | Secretary (Preschool) | CESPA Contract | 2023-2024 |
| George Ames, IV | Paraprofessional | CESPA Contract | 2023-2024 |

| Autumn Bodmer | Reading Paraprofessional | CESPA Contract | 2023-2024 |
|---------------|--------------------------|----------------|-----------|
| 1 | | | |

Motion that the employment recommendations be approved as presented.

Made by: Chad Erickson Supported by: Dale Wingerd Vote: 5-0; motion passed

7) Approval of CESPA Letter of Agreement

The 2023-2024 wage reopener was presented for approval.

Motion that the CESPA 2023-2024 Letter of Agreement be approved as presented.

Made by: Mike Houghton Supported by: Steve Clegg

Roll Call Vote: Steve Clegg, Aye; Chad Erickson, Abstain; Mike Houghton, Aye; Shirley Harris, Aye; Dale

Wingerd, Aye. Motion passed on a 4-0-1 vote (with Erickson Abstaining).

8) Adjournment - The meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.